A Boudoir Wedding (by Gemma Bannister at Lotty Lollipop)

I must admit when I chose to write about this topic on my very first MisstoMrs blog I was a bit nervous. I am a self confessed prude and (although I don’t think it is trendy to say these days) a bit of a feminist. But it fitted so nicely with the 50 shades of Miss to Mrs that is due out, it was the obvious choice.

However, much to my surprise, I hugely enjoyed researching the topic. In fact I spent a whole day sat on my sofa looking through Boudoir Photographs, reading blogs and creating an inspiration board on Pinterest ( Boudoir Weddings by Lotty Lollipop).

Boudoir Photography is a growing trend amongst Brides to be. It is offered as a naughty surprise for the Groom. The photo shoot is kept secret from him, until the morning of the wedding when the album is presented to him. Strictly for his eyes only.

A boudoir (/ˈbuːd.wɑːr/; French: [bu.dwaʁ]) is a lady’s private bedroom, sitting room or dressing room.

IMG_6933
Photography by http://www.sarahjaneethan.co.uk

Personally, I just love the idea of these shoots.

How can a prudish feminist love this idea I hear you ask?

This is why.

The images that are created by photographers such as Sarah Jane (above), are elegant and very tasteful. Not at all the provocative and trashy images I had at first conjured up in my head. I very much doubt any Bride that is going to such a photography shoot is doing them just for their husbands, they are doing it for themselves too. Being sexy isn’t about what you look like, it is about being confident with what you have got and being comfortable in your own skin. I can imagine these shoots are incredibly empowering and very good fun!

So this got me thinking how could you bring the elegance and beauty of the Boudoir Photography into a wedding day?

The answer for me is simple. French Lace and Pearls, all the way.

This can be done in your gown as in this one by Lolo Gina

il_570xN.641097838_o6am
Vintage Victorian Wedding Dress by Lolo Gina

Or in your shoes like these ones are by KUKLAfashiondesign

il_570xN.623064914_aa1g  Lacey designs can featured in you invitations, place names, seating plan and cake. The Laser Cut Wedding invitation below by designsbyjojoshop would work just perfectly.

140114_9305

as would this Cake by Cakey Wakey

10928092_10152747943298401_1891512897_n

My brain is brimming with ideas. Scattered pearls on the tables, favour bags and chairs tied with lace and roses ….. oh I could go on and on.

I would like to leave you with this quote I scribbled in my note pad whilst researching this topic and also with the fact that I Gemma Bannister am most certainly a Boudoir Wedding convert.

10922832_10152745947161731_1411741825377146039_n

One thought on “A Boudoir Wedding (by Gemma Bannister at Lotty Lollipop)

Leave a Reply

