The Queen of Hearts (by Gemma Bannister at Lotty Lollipop)

“The Queen of Hearts” title I originally picked for a blog piece about Valentines Day Weddings. However I have to confess to going on a massive tangent, as I quite often do (I blame the creative mind), and instead exploring Alice in Wonderland themed Weddings.

When my husband finally agreed to marry me, 10 years in and 2 kids under our belts. There was one condition, that it would be as least like a wedding as possible. There was no pomp and ceremony, no seating plan, no white frock, no top tables or formalities, no night do …. Just a relaxed and lovely day spent with good friends and family. It was perfect. The Alice in Wonderland Wedding would of suited us to a tea, if I could have my time again I would love to be an Alice Bride.

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

So for the purpose of this blog, I would love to take you on the journey of how I would go down the rabbit hole. To create a classically vintage, with a wacky fairytale twist type of affair.

So first thing is first the outfits, these are totally key to this theme. I the bride would wear blue, the Groom and PageBoy would be in crushed burgundy velvet Jackets and Top Hats with bottle green trousers and cream shirts.

IMG_2492

This dress by WhynaughtShop on Etsy would be perfect.

il_570xN.623010086_23po-2

I would have real fun with my bridesmaids they would be in black tutus, black and white striped leggings like these by Posh Pip Squeak, instead of bouquets they’d be carrying these Queen of heart Ragdolls by Blue Raspberry Designs and in there hair these beautiful Alice inspired headbands by Lexis Place

PicMonkey Collage

My venue would be decorated with Playing Card Garlands made out packs of playing cards and ribbons like these by Heather Vintage 88

garland

`I can’t explain MYSELF, I’m afraid, sir’ said Alice, `because I’m not myself, you see.’

― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

and filled with hanging toadstool decorations such as these sweet needle felted ones by Astashtoys

il_570xN.284165987

Vintage clocks such as this one by BAZOOR would be on every surface possible
il_570xN.602782712_r6uy 10628291_766959040013016_5813513546228541790_n

And my guests would be eating and drinking from vintage china see above, which is available to hire from Rosehip china hire & vintage event styling. Champagne out of China Tea cups – sounds like my cup of tea 🙂 

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

I’d make lots of signs and place them all around the venue to confuse our guests, including of course an eat me and drink me labels on our food and drinks.

IMG_2494

“A large rose-tree stood near the entrance of the garden: the roses growing on it were white, but there were three gardeners at it, busily painting them red. Alice thought this a very curious thing”                      – Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Last but not certainly not least the tables, for these I have grand plans. In the centre I would have large Vintage Vases filled with Red Roses and one single white one. Like this beautiful example by Quirkyiques

il_570xN.632986917_izpsIMG_2493

Flamingo feathers would be scattered and loose on the table tops,

“Get to your places!’ shouted the Queen in a voice of thunder … Alice thought she had never seen such a curious croquet-ground in her life; it was all ridges and furrows; the balls were live hedgehogs, the mallets live flamingoes”                                                                                                                                                  – Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

and there would be standing Flamingo and Hedgehog decorations as in there by AtelierCaroline and GourmetFelted

fhedg

So now I am totally and utterly inspired, I will be going away to make some Alice in Wonderland Wedding Cake Toppers. Keep them peeled as they’ll be coming to the Lotty Lollipop shop very soon.

“Begin at the beginning,” the King said, very gravely, “and go on till you come to the end: then stop.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

