A Foxglove and GingerSnap Photo Shoot by Gemma Bannister at Lotty Lollipop

One of my wonderful crafting buddies Racheal at Foxglove and Gingersnap released pictures of her Photo shoot last week and as soon as I saw the pictures I just knew I had to feature them on this weeks blog. I am a massive fan of Rachael’s work, actually I’m a massive fan of Rach herself. She is fun, vibrant, with a wicked sense of humour and this really does show through in the beautiful things she creates. I was thrilled when she first told me she was going to dip her toe into the bridal market, she will undoubtably be a huge hit with alternative brides.

Foxglove-Blog-170

Rachael is with out a doubt the Queen of Appliqués and has fused this together with her bespoke dress making skills to bring to us all her bridal range.

Foxglove-Blog-161

“Having created appliqués involving hand painting for the last five years, and loving creating my own dresses. I decided  to add my designs to a range of Bridal wear which is aimed at the kind of Brides who love the stand out element in life, and throws their arms around the alternative.”

Foxglove-Blog-123

“Brides are going so much more with their hearts nowadays as opposed to ‘dictated’ tradition. I wanted to help those daring dudettes express themselves by opening up more options to them, in the form of appliquéd art incorporated into their gowns.”

Foxglove-Blog-200

“Each seam is hand stitched and the applique designs themselves are all hand drawn and painted by myself. This gives each and every bride a unique one of kind of dress, for one of the most important days in their life”

Foxglove-Blog-146“The dresses are created individually and completely by myself, so I will be with the Bride from the first idea session right through to the final fitting.”

Foxglove-Blog-137

Rachael met Karen, the photographer at A Most Curious Fair in Norwich two years ago and says they had a rapport straight away and a friendship blossomed.
Karen has been invaluable in her knowledge of the wedding industry, having recently won Your East Anglian Wedding magazine’s Wedding of the Year with her inspiring photographic work.
Foxglove-Blog-148
The images took on this day are to feature on Rachael’s soon to be launched website so watch this space!!
“On a sunny but windy day, we met at my house on the Norfolk coast and took the day in our stride. Getting to grips with feathered dresses in the wind, and getting some lovely shots strolling round the village where I live. We certainly raised a few smiles along the way. Its not every day you see two Brides and a Groom wandering around, fully adorned with bouquets!”
Foxglove-Blog-195
“The backdrop was so picturesque, using the original fishing boat sheds from times when men would fish and the wives would wait on the dunes for them to come ashore with their bounty.”
“Living in a fishing village, I wanted to incorporate the scenery and make it part of the whole ethos. The dresses, the floral creations and the make up looked fantastic and I cannot wait to have another shoot. I must say, I’m a little addicted and I am creating more styles with a vibrant feel, so not for the faint hearted Bride…..”
Foxglove-Blog-172
Dresses by Racheal at Foxglove & Gingersnap
Photography by Karen at Fuller Photography
Bouquets, buttonholes and hairpieces by Miss Violet
3 thoughts on “A Foxglove and GingerSnap Photo Shoot by Gemma Bannister at Lotty Lollipop

Leave a Reply

